This Week’s Edition of ‘What’s That Growth?’

Following the stink bug invasion–which is not completely over, apparently, but more on that later–I find myself extra vigilant about changes in the garden. I noticed some small, hard growths on the stems of my tomato plants. The same were apparent on some, but not all, of my basil plants. Research impulses activated!

First, I thought that the growths were spittlebug (froghopper) eggs, since I have had a more-than-usual amount of those pests this year in my lawn and garden.

The two-striped spittlebug (or froghopper) common in St. Tammany. Image credit: zoysiagrass-seed.com

But the way spittlebugs lay their eggs contributes to their names. They surround their eggs with a protective foam that resembles spittle. The reason that they are also known as froghoppers is because they leap around the yard, their jumping ability proportionally exceeding that of fleas. St. Tammany residents are likely to notice spittlebugs springing from the grass as they mow the lawn.

Spittlebug eggs in foam. Image credit: oregonstate.edu

I also wondered if perhaps the growths I saw were stink bug eggs, seeing as those creatures have been on my mind, and I just presume that they have simply set up shop in my backyard. But a little research showed me that, no, what I was observing were not stink bug eggs, and I will spare everyone nightmares by omitting photos of stink bugs hatching from eggs, plotting to take over your attic space.

Ultimately, I figured out what the growths are, and they were not eggs after all. Instead, they were roots. When roots sprout from the stems of plants in that way, they are called adventitious roots.

Adventitious roots. Image credit: plantdiagnostics.umd.edu

Experienced tomato growers know that, if starting with transplants, when they first get the plants home, they should strip some of the bottom leaves and plant the transplants deeply. Tomato plants are likely to sprout more roots thanks to this planting, which will help support the plant as it grows.

I had planted my tomatoes deeply and had started my basil from seed, so since the plants are thriving and the roots are not causing damage, then I will consider them harmless hippie fringe for my garden. If anyone sees these growths on their plants and are tempted to remove them for cosmetic reasons, keep in mind that doing so can create open areas of the plant that could become susceptible to pests or disease.

Stink Bug Update: Knowing that the world clamors to know the latest events on “As the Stink Bug Turns,” after I sprayed the offenders with soapy water, yes, the bugs died. But the plants were harmed in the process. I accept the sacrifice because the stink bugs were damaging the plants and making cozy nests for themselves, but I wouldn’t recommend spraying the bugs while they are on the plants for anyone who wants to preserve the plants.

Because my priority, though, is making sure I don’t wind up with a house full of stink bugs, I let the plants take a hit. I also took down the entire back corner of blackberries, and since that was Stink Bug HQ, a prompt and soapy massacre took place. Maybe I am going crazy, but I will at least be a crazy woman free of stink bugs. Eventually.

Leave a comment