Bird Droppings or Caterpillars?

I have a Meyer lemon tree in my backyard that I will forever love because of the nearly yearlong bounty of wonderful juice it gave me last summer. I bought lemons today for the first time in so long, and I was bitter.

Another wonderful aspect of the Meyer lemon tree is that it is a natural host for the giant swallowtail butterfly.

Giant swallowtail butterfly. Image credit: Softsolder.com

Last year, I felt like I was touched by magic when I happened to be standing near the Meyer lemon tree, and a butterfly happened by and paused for just a half-moment to lay a single egg on a leaf.

Fortunately, I’d happened to read about the caterpillars that eventually turn into swallowtails. The caterpillars have a natural defense mechanism in that they look like bird droppings.

Giant swallowtail caterpillar. Image credit: Texdr.wordpress.com

 

They also have another defense mechanism whereby when they feel threatened, red horns immediately sprout out of their heads, and they can emit a foul-smelling spray to deter predators. But that’s only half as amusing as looking like bird droppings.

Still, even with the unusual appearance, some predators must be accustomed to seeking out the (supposedly) delectable caterpillars, because even when I noticed last year that several were shacking up in my tree, one by one, they seemed to be plucked away.

A few days ago, I noticed three fairly large caterpillars on the tree, so I hope at least one of them will make it to the point where it is fluttering across my yard, delighting my children as it looks for just the right leaf to hold its egg.

 

Leave a comment